Hong Kong by the back of a motorbike during a Typhoon!

My cousin Jeff and his family live in Hong Kong and kindly invited me to stay with them whilst I was travelling around South East Asia. They live in Discovery Bay and I was impressed to see how organised and effortless the public transport is there. I would walk out the front door, catch a bus to the waiting ferry and in no time at all cruised over to the mainland of Hong Kong. No cars are allowed to be driven in Discovery Bay only ridiculously over priced golf carts are able to run about, but they are not needed.

Discovery Bay ferry

Discovery Bay ferry

Jeff has a motorbike parked on the road not too far away and asked if I would like a tour of Hong Kong on it. It sounded like a great plan even though I hadn’t been on the back of a high powered motorbike before, only the little scooters through South East Asia riding around with my thongs on and a plastic helmet.

Jeff on his motorbike with China in the background

Jeff on his motorbike with China in the background

We got going and sped off along the motorways, cripes it was fast as I hung on to the back of the bike trying not to blow off the back of it. Once I got used to the wind rushing past me it was relaxing and a very scenic way to see the country. A typhoon warning had been put in place for the day even though the morning was beautiful with blue skies as we made our way through the bays filled with boats and out to the back of Hong Kong away from the sky scrapers. This is the area we don’t see in pictures of Hong Kong and I was surprised to see mountainous green areas, lovely bays and a great big theme park tucked away in the trees. We rode to the edge of Hong Kong and stopped near the long bridge which was the border between Hong Kong and China.

Ocean Park theme park hidden in the trees

Ocean Park theme park hidden in the trees

A typhoon warning had been put in place for the day and as Jeff was showing me his first house in Hong Kong, a house in a small village on one of the back roads the heavens opened and we waited under a car port for it to ease. We made our way to Kat Hing Wai a small village built behind a stone wall, again the heavens opened and we waited for it to stop at the entrance next to the money collector before getting back on the bike.

Small village in Hong Kong

Small village in Hong Kong

Inside the walled village

Inside the walled village

We headed out on the freeway in the open over the massive Tsing Ma bridge with no shelter the rain was hitting me like bullets in the neck between the gap in my jacket and helmet. I tried to fix my jacket while holding onto the bike at the same time. Jeff was hooning along at over 100km/hr, what a sight to see with all the cars whizzing by. Finally we made it onto the main island and the rain bullets didn’t hurt as much as we weren’t going as fast and we took shelter under a tree half way up a steep hill for a few minutes until the rain eased. By this stage we were both soaked to the bone. A few metres up on top of the hill was a lookout over the grey city with signs for the chinese visitors warning them not to spit over the edge.

Enough said...

Enough said…

We headed over the mountain to Stanley and had lunch at a café under a big umbrella overlooking the bay but half way through our lunch the rain and wind picked up and we took refuge inside to finish our lunch. Fortunately I brought a change of pants and peeled off my jeans and gave to Jeff to take back home whilst I headed off to explore some more of Hong Kong via the comfort of a dry bus.

Dusk in Hong Kong with a cloudy sky

Dusk in Hong Kong with a cloudy sky

Evening was nearing as I made my way to the cable car to Victoria Peak. Hallelujah! It didn’t rain again and the clouds parted in order for me to take some picture postcard perfect photos of the famous Hong Kong skyline.

Hong Kong skyline

Hong Kong skyline

Grubby backpacker 1 – Typhoon 0

copyright

Travelled to Hong Kong: 28 June to 4 July 2013

Leave a Reply

