The Day I walked 19km (11.8 miles) around Hollywood

I’ve heard the saying ‘nobody walks in LA’ everybody drives their car.  Being a tourist and not having a car I decided to set off on foot and explore Hollywood.  It didn’t look that far on the map!  I’ll just go for a wander…

I started off at my Hotel near Hollywood Boulevard past all the stars on the sidewalk and signings in the concrete at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre.  Down a side street and I hit Sunset Boulevard and In-N-Out Burger, the best Cheeseburger I have tasted in a long time!

From Sunset Boulevard I hit West Hollywood and a quick stop at Kat Von D’s Hollywood Ink a show I watched every episode.  I wandered through a few side streets with cute little houses in green leafy streets and emerged at the busy Santa Monica Boulevard.

The next part of my walk took for ages along Santa Monica Boulevard for a bit then down to Melrose Avenue past the CBS television studios and I finally limped into the Los Angeles County Museum of Art covered in sweat, how can it be so hot in winter!  My own aim of visiting the museum was to take a photo at the famous light post fixtures – mission accomplished!

Ok so I cheated a bit on my next leg, the day was starting to get away so I caught the bus for a short hop along Wilshire Boulevard to the world famous shopping street of Rodeo Drive, and didn’t I look out of place in my faded jeans and Kathmandu jacket but anyways I walked the street from bottom to top and emerged back again at Santa Monica Boulevard and was greeted by carol singers in Beverly Gardens Park in Beverly Hills.

I walked back along Santa Monica Boulevard from Beverly Hills along the beautiful green parks on the side of the road and of course the famous palm trees blowing in the afternoon wind.  At the famous Beverly Hills sign I took a left and walked up the fill along North Doheny until I hit Sunset Boulevard again as the sun was setting – how appropriate!

img_20161222_200311.jpg

Beverly Hills Palm Trees

I walked a little of the famous Sunset Strip past the pubs and clubs.  But with aching feet and the sun set I caught the bus for the second time along the rest of the Strip and made my way back to Hollywood Boulevard and the famous Walk of Fame back to my Hotel for a well deserved shower and to put my feet up for with a cold beer!

copyright

Walked around LA: 23 December 2016

Leave a Reply

